in ,

Metro Manila & 7 Areas Remain in GCQ in December

The President announced today in a televised that the National Capital Region (NCR) or Metro Manila, along with seven other areas, shall remain in General Community Quarantine (GCQ) from December 1 to 31, 2020.

The seven areas are as follows:

  1. Batangas
  2. Iloilo City
  3. Tacloban City
  4. Lanao del Sur
  5. Iligan City
  6. Davao City
  7. Davao del Norte

Meanwhile, the remainder of the Philippines retains its Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ) status, the laxest of all lockdown levels. 

The classification status was released based on the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) as a preventive measure against Yuletide-related increase in COVID-19 cases. 

The President continues to urge the public to comply with health and safety standard, including social distancing, wearing of masks, and frequent handwashing, while the development and release of a vaccine remains in the works.

Need a refresher on what is allowed and what isn’t under GCQ and MGCQ? Read our article on travel between GCQ and MGCQ areas.

What do you think?